My Failed 365 Project! (and a much needed update…)

Hello, hello, hello!
I want to write a blog post about some of the things I’ve been up to. Sorry: It doesn’t contain a ton of photos, so feel free to skip this one if you’d like!

My Failed 365 Project
I’m a little surprised that nobody has called me out on this yet… I failed my 365 project. Miserably! It was fun while it lasted (2 months), but here’s why I made the decision to discontinue it: It felt a bit forced. I am somewhat of a perfectionist… Just a littleeee bit… So I sometimes felt I was posting for the sake of posting. I didn’t want to dilute my online work, and I started to feel like photos I was truly proud of were getting lost in a sea of mediocrity.
Thus, it’s no more!

I did receive some very nice feedback though, so thank you to everyone who supported the Postcard Project. I may continue posting them on occasion.

Another reason I quit… I got busy with other things! Lots of other things. Here are a few of them:

My New Job!
I can finally say that I have (by my definition) a real job. It is completely unrelated to photography, but that’s okay. I am working as a library assistant in an elementary and middle school. I love it! With my newly purchased nerdy glasses, I think I’m even looking the part of librarian assistant…

Previous to this job, I had very little experience working with (or even being around) children. It’s been a lot of fun though! and I get to work with books! Yaaay, books!
One of the best parts of working in a school is: EVENINGS AND WEEKENDS OFF! Plus spring and winter breaks, long weekends, summer holidays… Which gives me hope that I may be able to have this job AND do photography. That leads me to my next project…

Stocksy

Image
Stocksy is a new stock photography company, and I was lucky enough to receive an invite to become a contributor. Previously, I had no experience with stock photography. I knew what it was, of course, but had never seriously looked into it.
However, the more I learned about Stocksy, the more interested I became. I love their fresh, artistic approach to stock photography.  The work on this site is incredible, and I feel honoured to be a contributor. If you are a designer, I would highly highly recommend checking out Stocksy for some beautiful stock photographs.
You can view my Stocksy portfolio here! (More Stocksy shoots are on my to-do list!)

The Monthly Photography ChallengeImage

(Click this photo to view the group on Facebook!)

I have previously talked about this, so I’ll keep it brief. I’m very excited with how this group is going, though! Jayce and I started this group in March, and we are already 250 members strong.
April’s theme was “Colors”, and this was my submission:Image

I really owe photo cred to my boyfriend, Ross. He’s great for when I’m too lazy to do the tripod/remote thing… Thanks Hun!

It’s a self portrait, taken as a back-up idea when my original “pink” idea failed.

If anyone is interested in joining the group- Please do! All levels and genres of photographers are welcome. We have a very supportive, friendly group, and we’re happy to answer any of your questions!
flowerface

another photo from the same day…

The Studio
I am currently in the process of putting together a studio. I have my lighting equipment already and have started to build back drops.
I will be working with a good friend of mine, Julianna. Jul works as a hair stylist in a salon, and she recently took a make-up course as well.
We are going to be offering portrait sessions to women of all ages.
This is a huge project that requires rebranding and basically reshooting a huge chunk of my portfolio… but I am so excited about this! I’ll be posting more about this as I make progress.

Thanks for reading!
signature

follow me on Facebook!follow me on Flickr! follow me on Twitter! check out my official site!

2 thoughts on “My Failed 365 Project! (and a much needed update…)

Leave a Reply

