Photography Tutorial: How to Create a Levitation Photograph (Part 2!)

Earlier in the week, I posted a tutorial on how to create a levitation photograph. Along with the photograph I already posted about, I also created this one:
t8

Here’s how I did it:
First, I set up my tripod and camera (I took these shots in my backyard). I set my focus and settings to manual, so they would stay consistent for the series of shots I took. I used a shallow depth of field because I wanted the background to be nice and blurry. Once I had the focus where I wanted it, I stepped into the frame and posed myself holding the first teacup. I used my wireless remote (which is hidden in my other hand) to take the photos.
t0I took a series of shots of myself holding the teacup, and the one above was my favourite. I knew I wanted to have flying teacups in the shot, so I wanted to make my hair defy gravity as well. I then took a series of shots of myself flipping my hair into the air, like this:t1
Of course, they turned out absolutely ridiculous! That’s okay though, I only needed to use a small section of this photograph. I took part of the hair from this image, and edited it into my first image, like so:
t2
The next step was to take the photo of the teapot. I took multiple shots while pouring tea from the spout (I ended up pouring tea all over my legs at one point!)
t4
I thought the above shot was particularly hilarious. (I’m glad that my mom wasn’t around to see that I had borrowed her favourite teapot and was playing around outside with it!)
Once I had a shot of the teapot that I liked, I erased myself from the image, and added the teapot to the original image. Like this:
t5
The next step was to photograph the floating teacups. To do this, I took photos of myself holding a teacup at various angles/depths of fields. In the following image, I put together two photos to show you how I did this. I left the focus on manual because I wanted some of the cups to be out of focus.
t6
In Photoshop, I erased my arms from the photos. I then surrounded the original image with cups of varying sizes and depths of fields:
t7
Once I was happy with the flying cups, I changed around the tones of the image until I was happy with it. Viola!
t8

I had a lot of fun creating both of my levitation images. If you are a photographer, I’d recommend trying out one of the two techniques I posted. See what you can come up with! Be creative and have fun with it.

Thanks for viewing! I hope this inspires you to create your own levitation image. 🙂
This image was created for my monthly photography challenge group. If you would like to join the group on Facebook, please click here!

Cheers!
signature
I’d love to hear from you! Connect with me on one of the following:
follow me on Facebook!check out my official site!follow me on Twitter! follow me on Flickr!
Or leave a comment below:

4 thoughts on “Photography Tutorial: How to Create a Levitation Photograph (Part 2!)

Leave a Reply

