Introducing a New Project! Assignment: Photography (The Monthly Photography Challenge)

Happy March 1st, everyone!

I’m super excited to announce a new project! (ANOTHER ONE! What is wrong with me?!)
I am seriously excited about this though. I’m calling it Assignment: Photography, as of right now (until someone suggests a better title to me. ;))

The idea sprang from a conversation I was having with friend and fellow photographer, Jayce. Jayce and I were talking about how we rarely shoot for ourselves any more, and how we miss photography school because we were given assignments. Those assignments forced us to shoot… They forced us to be creative and resourceful, and to do so in a limited amount of time.

Thus, Assignment: Photography was born. The project is a monthly challenge. At the beginning of the month, a theme will be announced. Photographers have the entire month to conceptualize, shoot and edit their interpretation of the theme. On the last day of the month, photographs must be posted.

I was excited to see that other photographers were interested in the idea as well, so we decided to make a group for photographers who would like to participate. If anyone reading this is interested, please check out the group on Facebook:

ASSIGNMENT: PHOTOGRAPHY

I’m excited that our first theme is levitation. I’ve wanted to do a levitation photo for a long time now… Here are some levitation photos that I find super inspiring:

brookeshadenblog
source: Brooke Shaden
delilablog
source: Delila
lissyelleblog
source: Lissy Elle

I also wanted to give an update on my 365 Project.
The first month has gone well, and I’ve received some lovely feedback. I also received my first ever hate-comment! Thankfully I was able to see and remove it before the model or anyone else saw. The offender was instantly banned… I’m okay with constructive criticism, but I don’t like it when people attack my models.

These are the top 5 Postcard Project photographs from the last month (according to Facebook likes):

7 20 1 5 17

Thanks for viewing!

signature

Follow my work:

follow me on Twitter! check out my official site! follow me on Flickr! follow me on Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Introducing a New Project! Assignment: Photography (The Monthly Photography Challenge)

  1. thank you for sharing kait, the levitation photos look great.. i agree they are inspiring, i want to try some myself 🙂 its getting round to it…. but it has to be done 🙂 have a great weekend
    francesca

    1. Thanks for your comment Francesca! 🙂
      I agree, it can be so difficult to find time for these type of projects! That’s why I’m giving myself a month to do it, so I have enough time to come up with something I am truly happy with. 😀

      Thank you, I hope you have a great weekend as well!

      -Kait

Leave a Reply

