Hi, this is Me.

I think it is finally time for me to write a proper biography.

This idea came to me when I was recently talking to a friend of mine. She told me that she had initially been intimidated to contact me asking if I would like to work together. This thought seemed crazy to me, because, well, I’m just… Me. I don’t consider myself to be an intimidating person at all!

I began to understand though, because I realized that I’ve had the exact same reservations about contacting models:Β “She’s soooo beautiful! I don’t know if I should bother contacting her, what if my work isn’t good enough?”

Please don’t misunderstand me and think I’m trying to play up my own work or anything. I’m simply addressing the fact that contacting strangers asking to work together can be intimidating, especially if we know nothing about this person.

I then began to think about how I am projecting myself to the outside world. I realized that I don’t really have a proper biography online… In fact, most of my biographies are pretty weak, and just have the basics: My name, location, and little else.

So today I would like to introduce you to me!

Hi, my name is Kait. I am in my twenties, I have a boyfriend named Ross and a cat named Stella.

family
This is us. Hi!

I live in a small town called Summerland. (which I honestly don’t think I have a decent photo of…)

My favourite pose is the thumbs-up (or the double thumbs-up.)

biosilly biothumbs biothumbs2 biothumbs4 biothumbs6 biothumbs7 biothumbs8

I saw a riot once.

bioriot

I also saw this.

(what the-?)
(what the-?)

I love the Harry Potter series (okay, well maybe not the first movie… or the fifth.)

biohp

I’ve been white water rafting.

I was in the very back, but that's okay with me... White water rafting pics are not very flattering.
I was in the very back, but that’s okay with me… White water rafting pics are not very flattering.

I love London Fogs and sushi dates.

biosushi

I think capybaras are the cutest things in the world (Google it), I like video games (but not THAT much), I am an only child, I have never broken a bone, I love music and movies, I am not a “girly girl” (though I do wear a lot of dresses).

I spent my 20th birthday in Berlin.

(We went to the Berlin Zoo and met some new friends that day.)
(We went to the Berlin Zoo and met some new friends that day.)

I have worked on a production line, I used to have a huge Madonna gap in my teeth before I got braces (thankfully I have no photographic evidence of this nearby), I enjoy painting and drawing, I am ALWAYS on time, and I will never, EVER skydive.

I have been taking photographs for a long time, and I started the same way many other photographers do:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Taken with my very first digital camera… Shot on full-auto, awyiss.

I started professionally when I was 21.Β Like most people, I have insecurities about myself and about my work. My journey with photography has had many highs and lows, and has taught me many valuable lessons. I have learned many things the hard way, but I have also made a lot of great friends. Photography has helped me a grow as a person, and I honestly don’t think I’d change a thing.

Previous to photography, I was incredibly shy. As in, too-self-conscious-to-talk-to-strangers shy. I don’t know why, but I was extremely anxious and had a hard time even looking people in the eye sometimes. When people meet me now, they say they can’t believe that I was ever a shy person.

So there you go, that’s me. Do we have anything in common?

I’m writing this to give you an idea of who I am. If you’ve ever wanted to talk to me, please do! I love talking with new people and I am more than willing to give advice and encouragement where I can. That’s what it’s all about.

Thank you for reading!
signature

 

follow me on Facebook! follow me on Twitter! check out my official site! follow me on Flickr!

10 thoughts on “Hi, this is Me.

  1. Kait although we have never met the more I read you the more we have in common.Your honesty about your work is the same for me I find your words quite refreshing.What is it with the artists?The humble creative ones?Needing from time to time to listen to ourselves with confidence and encouragement to just move on.Be assured you are good at what you do we ARE watching.Thanks for the SJB makeup connection we will work together this weekend hugs a fellow photographer Lise

    1. Hi Lise,
      Thank you for such a kind response.
      I’m glad that you feel that way! πŸ™‚
      It’s true, we do need to listen to and encourage ourselves. It’s always nice to connect with another artist and know that they have felt the same way.

      Thank you so much.
      I’m very glad that you were able to connect with Sheleah, and I hope that you have a great shoot together! I look forward to seeing the results. πŸ™‚

      Cheers!

  2. I also have a love for Harry Potter…and I can’t stand the 4th movie, because Daniel’s hair looks so ridiculous the entire time, so I’m always so glad to get to #5…at least until the Event-That-Must-Not-Be-Mentioned occurs.

    A very nice post – it’s always nice to get to know the people behind the blog, as it were.

    1. Hahah, you are so right about the hair! It’s funny watching how the main characters change… I like the fifth one for Umbridge and her sheer evilness! I think she’s one of the greatest villains of all time. πŸ˜‰

      Thank you very much! I feel like that’s what blogging is all about, and like my blog was seriously lacking some information. I don’t usually get very personal with my posts, so I wanted to show people a bit of my (ridiculous) personality. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for reading!

  3. Kait, you are so super! Do you know that?! I’m glad you wrote this post – it IS kind of mind-blowing to think that potential connections will be intimidated by reputation. I’ve experienced that quite a bit too, and I feel the same – I’m still just the same as my shy and awkward roly-poly little girl self, who wasn’t strong enough to get across the money bars, preferred to do arts and crafts in my room all the time, and blushed (INTENSELY) from head to toe any time anyone talked to me – why in the world would anybody be intimidated by that, you know?! And I still feel insecurities about myself (including my work vs the next one’s) all the time. But just as though life has put me through ups and downs which have made me a little less shy and awkward (though I still can’t get myself across the damn monkey bars!), my job and my art have made forced me to push through some pretty intense personal and professional challenges which have truly helped me become better and stronger version of myself. I totally know at least how far you’ve come since our beautiful, long, frustrating, super-satisfying first time working together… Friggin’ look where you are now! And the road is long, amiga. This is just the start. Proud of you! Miss you a lot. XO

    1. I love you!!
      It is very mind blowing! Since writing this, I’ve already had a few people contact me, saying they were nervous to do so before. It’s hard to imagine anyone being afraid to talk to me, or you, or any of us, really. I never want anyone to be afraid to contact me. About anything. Ever!
      I know you understand this well… People are very intimidated by your work! Everyone knows you here and they highly respect you.
      I think it’s so awesome that you have stayed true to yourself through it all. You are such a fabulous woman.
      I think it’s good to have insecurities because they humble us. I find they help me pinpoint where I need/want to improve, and they can be turned into motivation. It’s all a learning experience.
      The love of our art keeps us going, and I’m thankful for that because I can see us growing all the time. I’m proud of us!
      I’m so happy that we were able to become friends, and that you were there for me ages ago, when I really had no idea what I was doing. (and sometimes I still feel that way!)
      I agree that this is just the start… and I’m excited to see what’s next, and to work hard for it. I admire you for taking such a huge leap and making the big move to Toronto. You are SOOOOOO talented, and such a strong person. I admire you more than you know. Miss you ❀

  4. Hi Kait! This was my first time to your blog (by way of Emily’s blog). I’m also a photographer, a fan of Harry Potter (although I loved the first movie! Have you visited the HP park in Universal Studios? I just about died with happiness), and my mom owns a sushi joint so we eat quite a bit of sushi πŸ™‚ Loved the stream of thumbs up photos. Your work is really great, loved checking it out!

    1. Hi Ami!

      I really enjoyed your comment, thank you for getting in touch with me! πŸ˜€
      I have not been to the HP park yet!! It is on my list though! (I told my boyfriend we should go there for our honeymoon, since we’re both HP fans, heh.)
      How was the Butterbeer?!

      Wow, insanely jealous that you have constant access to sushi! I’m actually going on a sushi date tonight for Valentine’s day. πŸ™‚

      I’m looking forward to following your blog and keeping in touch! It’s great to meet you!

      -Kait

Leave a Reply

