The Postcard Project (365)

I am finally ready to introduce my new project!
I have been hinting at this project for a while now, and have been thinking about it for even longer.

I am doing a 365 project! For those who have never heard of a 365 project- It’s 365 photographs: one photo a day, every day, for one year. Many photographers take on 365 projects to challenge themselves to shoot more. They sometimes have a theme (often self-portraits), or else are completely random. I have always been intrigued by the idea of doing one of these projects. It is amazing to see how some photographers grow and evolve while doing a 365 (Alex Stoddard is a great example.) I have thought about doing a 365 project for some time now, but couldn’t decide on a theme.

I am calling my 365 project the Postcard Project.

This project was inspired byΒ Parker Fitzgerald. I am IN LOVE with this 365 project he did, and I recommend checking it out. Other photographers have completed gorgeous 365 quote projects, but it was Parker’s version that made me fall in love with the idea.

So my project is that: 365 days of personal work, with a quote attached. I love the quote idea because photographs and words both have a strong ability to stir us emotionally.

Most people only see my fashion work, however, I have a decent-sized collection of personal work that rarely gets shown. I also have a collection of film photographs. I am taking on this project to showcase some of my personal work, as well as to have an excuse to shoot more film (which I love, though it’s so expensive.) The photos used will be a mix of film and digital (I wish I could do the entire project in film, but as I mentioned, cost might become an issue.)

I’m not yet sure how the project will tie in with my blog. I may do a weekly post with the updates, or a monthly post that showcases some of my favourite photographs. If you are interested in following day to day, please do so at one of the following:

Facebook
Twitter
Tumblr
Flickr

I will be providing daily updates to these sites.

So here we go, wish me luck!

signature

1/365:
1

4 thoughts on “The Postcard Project (365)

  1. Luck wished! I love 365 projects…I think they really push you to be creative every day. I sometimes go through a rut where I’m not photographing or cooking or anything, and this is a great way to stay inspired. I can’t wait to see what you share with us!

    1. Thank you so much!
      I love them too! I know what you mean, I also get stuck in ruts where I have a hard time creating anything (sometimes for months…) That’s part of the reason why I want to do this project! I know it will be a huge challenge, but it will inspire me to keep going and creating. πŸ™‚
      Can’t wait to share them with you! πŸ™‚

      1. I’ve been in just that sort of run where my photography is concerned. Where I used to live I could walk my dog around my neighborhood and I had lots of different things to shoot, but now I’m more rural, and pretty much just have my yard. I kept thinking I had nothing interesting to take photos of…so I started making myself go out everyday and find something to photograph, and it’s amazing how many things I found! Just making the effort to look, really helped bring my inspiration back.

      2. I know what you mean- I haven’t photographed much in the last 3 months. I find it’s more difficult to feel inspired by the winter time. Some days are gorgeous, but mostly it’s just grey and blah.
        That’s why this project is great- I like going out and searching for beauty and finding photographs where I would normally never look for them. πŸ™‚
        That’s awesome that you did that! It’s great to have a reason to go out and explore every day. You never know where you might find an awesome photo! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

