Being Creative with “Shoot-Throughs” – A Shoot with Gabbi

Hellooo!

Today I wanted to post some photos from a recent shoot, an explanation of the process, a before-and-after, a couple of funny behind-the-scenes shots, and also- I have a question for you!

I recently shot with Gabbi of Key Model Management.

Gabbi is one of my all time favourite models and this was my fourth time working with her. What makes her so great?
Her ability to just go for it. I love a model who isn’t shy and who is willing to put themselves out there and try new posing, all for the sake of getting a good shot. I think it is an absolute crucial quality for a model to have.
It is so important to be versatile, and it’s the only way your book is going to grow and improve.

Besides having all of those lovely model qualities, she’s a hilarious girl, and a lot of fun to work with (as you’ll see at the end of this post).

I have been very inspired by darker, mysterious imagery lately (could be the season, perhaps?)
So we shot in an old cemetery around the corner from my home.

I wanted to make a note on using ‘shoot-throughs’ (holding something in front of the lens and shooting through it in order to create an effect). I decided to play with a few different shoot-throughs for this shoot, and brought along various glass vases, as well as a toy kaleidoscope.
It is so easy to create awesome effects by using things around your own home. I am a fan of shooting through glass, but you can also use fabric, plastic, plants (I do this quite often), and anything that you think will create an interesting effect! I would recommend checking out this blog post from Photojojo for more ideas!
(I am thinking of doing a blog post dedicated entirely to this subject, and showing more experimental shoot-through photos!)

If it isn’t a technique you’re already using, I encourage everyone to go try it! It’s extremely affordable (in most cases free), easy (it just requires you to shoot with one hand while you hold the object in the other), and fun! I would love to see the results!

I put together the wardrobe myself for this shoot. I didn’t want anything too complicated, I just wanted it to be very dark (which worked out well because about 95% of my wardrobe is black!) My mom is always volunteering pieces from her own wardrobe as well. It is fun to hear her ideas and to see what she suggests for wardrobe pieces- although she doesn’t have a personal interest in photography, she is very creative and supportive of my work. Plus, she has some wicked-cool retro clothes. šŸ˜‰

Sheleah was able to come do make-up for us (again, last minute!) and she did a fantastic job. She created the exact look I was hoping for, and I felt that it perfectly complimented the aesthetic of the shoot. Thank you, Sheleah, for being so reliable and talented.

Here are the shots! (I will include notes to tell you about the different shoot-throughs used on some of these photos.)

For this shot, I used a toy kaleidoscope. I broke open the kaleidoscope and took out the shiny reflective piece inside, which I then shot through. (Scroll to the end of this post for a before and after of this shot!)

For this shot, I used a very thick vase, held in front of the edge of my lens. I loved the ‘ghosting’ effect it created, and how Gabbi appears to fade into the background.

I used a handful of yellow flowers for this shot. I love using plants and flowers when shooting! It is so easy, and if you are shooting outdoors, you will most likely be able to find something nearby which can be used for this.

I used an interesting glass globe for this one (it was something I found lying around the house, I think it is meant for a DIY snow globe.) It created a crazy distortion on some of the shots, but I liked the subtle bit of distortion it created on this one.

Again, a glass vase held in front of the lens produced this look (which I later enhanced in Photoshop.)

Once we wrapped up the shoot, I asked Gabbi if she would be willing to help me practise with my new light set-up. I told her to do whatever she wanted, and the result was pretty awesome:

Hahaha. Thank you for helping me test my lights, and for being hilariously entertaining, Gabbi.

Here is a before and after of the kaleidoscope picture. I have started inventing a collection of Curves layers that I have been using in my editing. It’s such a simple and quick way to completely change a photograph- I love it!

Finally,
I have a question for anyone who reads my blog:
What kind of things would you like to see me to post more of?Ā 
Do you like seeing the step by step process of shoots? Do you like the details, or would you rather just see the photos? Would you like to see more personal content? Tutorials? Before and afters? Behind the scenes? Technical information? Features on some of my favourite photographers?
I’m really interested in hearing what you have to say, I would love to post more of whatever interests readers the most!
Please share your thoughts, either by commenting on this blog post, or by getting in contact with me through one of the following links. Thank you!

As always, thanks for reading!Ā 

Kait

Please follow me and my work at any of the following:

6 thoughts on “Being Creative with “Shoot-Throughs” – A Shoot with Gabbi

  1. I don’t know much about photography but I really enjoy your photos and it’s interesting to see before and after and how did you achive the effects!

Leave a Reply

