Shooting with Amelia and Sheleah

First off-
Unfortunately, I’ve been slightly inactive with photography lately. The reasons are many and varied, but that’s not what this blog post is about.

I did manage to plan a shoot recently with a young lady named Amelia (from Allan International) and a local make-up artist named Sheleah.

My plan for the shoot was to do something youthful, with almost a fairy tale feel. I have been inspired by flower crowns, which have been very popular in photography lately. I thought they would add to the pretty, summery feel of the shoot.
(My mom was actually making flower crowns for a golf tournament recently, so I sat down with her and made some of my own to use as photo props.)

I had been trying to arrange something with Amelia for a long time, so I was happy to finally be able to work with her. She was the perfect model for this shoot.

I’m really thankful that Amelia and Sheleah were willing to drive from Kelowna to work with me (I had been unsure if people were still going to want to work together now that I’m no longer in the city.)

Thanks for your hard work, ladies!

Camera Specs- I recently sent away my D7000 for repairs. I’d been having back focus issues with it (as many other D7000 users have been) for quite awhile. Unfortunately, it took awhile for me to actually get around to sending it away (because I wasn’t sure how long it would take, which made me nervous for upcoming shoots.) I received my camera within a week of sending it to Nikon, with a report that they had replaced two parts. It seems to be working well, so I’m extremely happy!

I also recently purchased a 35mm 1.8 lens. My friend Tony was nice enough to tell me about one for sale in the area (now I don’t have to borrow his all of the time!!) I used the 35mm for all of these photos… I was previously using a 50mm, but I really like the extra space I get from the 35mm.

2 thoughts on “Shooting with Amelia and Sheleah

Leave a Reply

