An Experimental Shoot (featuring Shelby)

I recently did somewhat of an experimental shoot with my lovely friend Shelby.

As a photographer, I am always learning. I find that photography is a field in which there is always room to improve, new techniques to try, equipment to learn, etc.
That being said, sometimes we are limited by our equipment. This is something I’ve struggled with a lot lately, but I’ll save that for another blog post.

Basically: I don’t have a ton of fancy equipment. I have a D7000, a 50mm 1.4 (which I am in love with, by the way), an SB-600 speedlight with accessories (an umbrella, light stand and triggers), and of course, one of the most important tools (for me, anyways): Photoshop.
The reason I’m saying this is because: A single speedlight isn’t exactly an ideal lighting set up for any photographer. However, it’s what I have, and it’s all I can afford at this point.

I rarely use my speedlight because I much prefer natural light (which is apparent to anyone who has seen my work), but… It’s winter.
And so: I decided it was time to experiment with the flash (which I have mostly reserved for low-pressure self portrait shoots).

Thankfully, since becoming a photographer, I have had the pleasure of becoming friends with other people in the industry- Including Shelby. Shelby is a stunning model and also a great friend- She was happy to come over, do her own make up (which she is amazing at), and model for me while I pretended to know what I was doing.

Admittedly, the shoot was a bit frustrating. I ended up having problems with the speedlight during the shoot (damn you, speedlight!) which was only firing every 1/10 shots. We ended up cutting the shoot short, feeling somewhat dispirited, with the resolution: We’ll try again a different day.

However, going through the photos afterwards, I found one that we were both happy with:

We weren’t really expecting to have any successful images, so one is definitely better than none! Plus, it was a good experience.

Thanks for your patience, Shelby!

2 thoughts on “An Experimental Shoot (featuring Shelby)

Leave a Reply

